Cathy Yang PLDTMovements

PH media news anchor Cathy Yang moves to PLDT as the group’s communications head

Veteran news anchor Cathy Yang has moved to corporate communications after 28 years in broadcast journalism. In the disclosure posted on the PLDT’s corporate website, the digital services provider announced Yang’s appointment along with Angel Redoble, Branden Dean, Jonston Ong, and Bernadette Salinas in various capacities.

Yang’s official title is First Vice President and Group Communications Officer. Mon Isberto, head of PLDT and Smart Communications Inc. Public Affairs, is retiring after 25 years with the telecommunications group.

NTT names IT veteran as new PH CEO

Kaspersky names first-ever enterprise head for Southeast Asia market

Yang obtained an AB Communications Degree from De La Salle University. She earned a journalism fellowship from the Reuters Foundation at Oxford University in England. She became an international fellow at the University of Cardiff in Wales. Yang also received a scholarship to attend the Wharton Seminars for Business Journalists at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

She was granted the Sheehan International funding opportunity to undertake lectures in leadership strategy, financial analysis. In 2019, she undertook a scholarship from the Washington-based National Press Foundation and Hinrich foundation for a deeper understanding of international sustainable trade.

Her previous role prior to the corporate communications job at PLDT is the anchor and managing editor of ABS-CBN News Channel (ANC) hosting various shows on business and economics. She anchored the flagship programs of Bloomberg Television Asia Pacific for 10 years wherein four years were spent in Tokyo and five years in Hong Kong. She also worked for Reuters TV Asia Pacific. She was a Hong Kong-based correspondent for the global English channel of China’s state television CCTV, now CGTN.

Yang has been recognized by numerous award-giving bodies in Asia often.

Her appointment is effective July 31, 2020.